13 July 2021

RCN London is launching their Rising Star Awards for 2021, part of the  celebrations for Black History Month which take place in October.  

Nominations are now open for any London based nurses, midwives, and nursing support workers from the Black, Asian and minority ethnic community (BAME) who you feel have made an outstanding contribution over the past year.  Nominations are welcome from within and outside the NHS, and nominee’s must be RCN members. 

The theme for this year is ‘anti-racism a time for literacy and transformation’ and this is reflected in the award categories which are detailed in the nomination form. 

Commenting on the launch of the awards, Christine McKenzie, a Rising Star judge and RCN Professional Lead for Learning and Development, said:

“It’s an incredible privilege to be part of the judging panel again this year. As a nurse from BAME heritage myself, I found it inspiring and humbling to hear about the lengths London’s BAME nursing community goes to care for their patients, support colleagues, and drive change in our health and care services. 

Since the awards began, they have gone from strength to strength, and we have been able to celebrate and recognise lots of Rising Stars and the work that they do. This year, I’m looking forward to hearing about how nominees encompassed our theme of anti-racism to help change culture and develop more inclusive workplaces and services.”

Here is some useful information on the Rising Star Awards:

Eligibility Criteria:

You can nominate an RCN London member who: 
• works in London 
• is from a Black, Asian, and minority ethnic (BAME) background or works with BAME communities
• works in a nursing role across bands 2-7, or role equivalent outside the NHS
• is key to the future of nursing (locally and/or nationally) 
• can be employed inside or outside the NHS including through an agency
• has not previously been the recipient of a Rising Star award.

Closing date - 17 July

To nominate, and for more  information visit: The RCN Rising Star Awards 2021